Posts Tagged ‘music’

Photos by “AmeobaSF”

August 10, 2009

3801801425_2e8fe14272_m3801801697_64dd9edf2f_m3801802349_32fb7c3418_m3801803481_8df61faa32_m3801803991_5c18ac1003_m3801804105_0a0a2e03e2_m3801805045_b71d20571c_m3801805187_938518b807_m3801805231_122c1f8342_m3801805371_448ed2bfd8_m3801805541_ac448ea870_m3801805801_6d1a4f2115_m3801805963_b5c8bd1d88_m3801806149_74e32284c4_m3801807177_4d0ba2983d_m3801807795_03d2b65732_m3801808311_814f8d18dd_m3801808633_6222a75c20_m3802619228_3d8fdc9f7a_m3802619858_a1abbfc0a0_m3802619892_f0b6e6f1a5_m3802620030_54c59b019e_m3802621174_d90e360110_m3802620856_afb4d04349_m3802622014_a5ec632f45_m3802622108_08eae9fb59_m3802622140_479ab532dd_m3802624526_5e7bb96352_m3802624596_9fee2ea73b_m3802624876_a5e4b6290d_m3802625194_7b0dc489fd_m3802625782_5e7590f774_m

Video of the Oakland Interfaith Gospel Choir by “HipHopSlam”

August 10, 2009

International Dance Stage – James Moore Theatre

August 6, 2009

A very slight schedule change to announce, so here is the update:

6:00 – 6:10 Kyoungil Ong (Korean Court Dance)

6:10 – 6:40 Kala Art Institute Artists-in-School Program (Dance and Rhythms of India)

6:40 – 6:50 Frederique (Belly Dance)

6:50 – 7:00 Kyoungil Ong (Korean Drum Dance)

7:00 – 8:00 Nguyen Dance Company (Vietnamese Dance)

8:00 – 8:15 Frederique (Belly Dance)

8:15 – 9:15 NaachDuniya (Bollywood Dance)

9:15 – 9:45 Zambalita (Belly Dance)

9:45 – 10:45 Urban Prodigy Performance Co. (Urban Dance)

Sam's Mugshot

Sam's Mugshot

We should also mention our MC in the James Moore Theatre for the evening, the Express‘s very own Sam Levin.

Sam has some experience on the stage himself, but for this event, he’ll be introducing the performers and running the front of the house. Treat him nice; he’s a cutie!

Jessica Laventhal from the Express will be backstage this year, keeping the dance troupes on schedule… which will be especially fun with the 33 Bollywood dancers!

Band Spotlight #22: Goapele

August 5, 2009

Best of the East Bay Party main stage performer, Goapele, is featured on the cover of this week’s East Bay Express. We are thrilled to have her gracing our stage this year!

Cover

Event Party Guide

August 4, 2009

Pick up a hard copy version in the middle of Wednesday’s East Bay Express, or flip through the Party Guide online now!


Watch the Party LIVE online

August 4, 2009

During the party, the Express will be webcasting the Best of the East Bay Party live, in all it’s glory, both our our website, EastBayExpress.com, and on LiveVenu.com.

gsrhoni sound live logo squareimage_gsl_051409The webcast is courtesy of Richmond-based Gershoni Sound and Live Venu. Gershoni Sound & Live Venu have partnered to enable viewers to experience entertainment, nightlife, special and corporate events, clubs, concerts and venues from all over the world… live online!

Live Venu is a virtual window to events worldwide. The best destination for high quality productions, Live Venu is radically different from other services because Live Venu searches out exceptional events, conferences, nightlife, festivals and DJs, and brings the video and audio to you.

livevenu_logo_073009Log onto Live Venu to experience the magic from the comfort of your own home, and join in the experience with other fans from around the globe. As a recent start-up, Live Venu is already being sought out as the #1 network for event streaming.

Gear up, party people!

August 4, 2009

The 2009 Party t-shirts on now on sale. Click here to shop.

DAI Style Lounge and Fashion Show

July 31, 2009

Over 60 local designers, artists and innovators will be at the Best of the East Bay Party to knock your socks off (and then sell you new socks) in true Bay Area style. Don’t worry, we’ll make sure the museum ATM is fully loaded. In the meantime you savvy chic shoppers you, check out their websites to figure out which booths you want to visit.

Andrea Wysocki Jewelry – www.andreawysocki.com

Arts Anvil – www.judybrandonjewelry.com

Ashes and Empires – www.ashesandempires.com

Avery Jasper – www.averyjasper.com

Ayurvastram – http://store.ayurvastram.com

BlueLotusArts – bluelotusarts1@yahoo.com

Bridgland Studios – www.bridglandstudios.com

Candy Boutique – www.candyboutique.net

Chrystie Cappelli – missingpiece-sf.com

Class Attire – www.TheChalkboardTee.com

Cookie Lee Jewelry – RoxanneSeliger@gmail.com

Denise’s Pieces – www.nisespieces.com

Enzo Milano – www.enzomilano.com

Estilo Clothing Co – www.estiloclothing.com

Flea Market Girl – fleamarketgirl.com

Funky & Fabulous – www.funkyandfabulous.com

Gold Dust Studio – www.goldduststudio.com

Gravitea – www.drinkgravitea.com

Heart’s Desire Jewelry – www.heartsdesirejewelry.com

Helena de Natalio – www.helenadenatalio.com

Hipstirr – www.hipstirrbelts.com

Josie Adele – www.josieadele.com

Judy Aurora – www.judyaurora.com

K. Antoinette Collection – kantoinette.etsy.com

King Bag Company – www.kingbagcompany.com

K’ren’s Interior and Designs – www.quiltsforsalebyk-ren.com

Label King – www.unifiedpeople.com

Lapin Vilardi Travel Accessories – www.lapinvilardi.com

Mama’s Little Babies – http://mamaslittlebabies.com

Mangosteen Jewelry – www.mangosteenoakland.com

MayMe – www.maymeonline.com

Medium Reality –  http://mediumreality.com

Miss Bombshell Vintage Reproductions – laura_benitez@hotmail.com

Mobile Spinach – www.mobilespinach.com

Mod Clothing – www.Picasaweb/mod411.com

Nodeform – www.nodeform.com

NoFu – www.nofu.com

Nopal – www.nopalapparel.com

Oaklandish – http://www.oaklandish.com

O’Lover Hats – www.oloverhats.com

Om Records – www.om-records.com

Princess Punk – www.princess-punk.com

Raphaela Robinson – raphirobinson@yahoo.com

Rebecca Ciccio – http://rebeccaciccio.com/

Revelation by ME – www.revelationbyme.com

San Francisco Institute of Esthetics and Cosmetology – www.sfiec.edu

Sarah Swell Jewelry – http://sarahswell.com/

Sazzy Boutique – www.sazzyboutique.com

Sefirah Fierce Designs – www.sefirahfiercedesigns.com

Selma Karaca – www.selmakaraca.com

Sikara & Co. – www.sikarajewelry.com

Sita Rupe – sitarupe.com

Sourdough – http://www.sourdoughsf.com/

Stella and Dot – www.stelladot.com/sabina

Teruo Artistry – www.teruo.com

The Baddest Bag ™ – www.thebaddestbag.com

Versa Jewelry –  http://www.versajewelry.com

Victrend – www.victrend.com

VIVO – www.vivo-imports.com

W.Ho Made It – www.whomadeit.etsy.com

Wild Cow Designs – www.dyanegoldman.com

Yellowfield Hats – yellowfield7@yahoo.com

DAI Style Lounge is also hosting a Fashion Show in the 2nd floor museum Restaurant, right next to the vendor area. DJs and stylists will keep you feeling and looking great all night long.

Visit the Amoeba Music Annex Booth!

July 31, 2009

Conveniently located next to the Amoeba Music Main Stage, you’ll find live silk-screening demonstrations and shirts for sale by the ultra-cool and eco-friendly guys at Free Gold Watch. We’ll also have cult film and band t-shirts, buttons by James Dillon’s B&B Buttons (3 for $5!), Buddha Machines, and other killer stuff for sale.

Don’t forget to also visit the Amoeba Music/East Bay Express booth at the entrance of the party to enter to win prizes such as $100 Amoeba gift certificates, Guitar Hero game kits, t-shirts, local restaurant certificates, Bay Area event tickets, movie passes, and more!

Expand Your Universe at the Chabot Space and Science Center’s Kids’ Party Zone!

July 31, 2009

Chabot Space & Science Center is throwing an out-of-this-world party for ages 10 and under at the Best of the East Bay Party. Youngster rock bands, games, art projects, and hands-on activities await. And the museum staff will have the kid’s (and adult’s) scary, yet thrilling, Bat Cave open for the night.

Check out some of the other fun activities the Chabot Space & Science Center has planned from 5pm – 9pm in the museum’s Natural Science Center.

Activities

  • Astronaut Diaper Chemistry – Learn how astronauts are able to extend their space walks by wearing specialty diapers. Learn what they’re made of and the magic of the super absorbent polymer inside.
  • Air Compressor Rockets – Make your own rocket and blast off to one of the planets in our solar system. The better the rocket, the farther it does.
  • Spacesuit – discover the complexities and hazards of working in space by examining the numerous components of a spacesuit.

Astronaut Training – Simulate the effects of zero gravity on balance and coordination through a series of challenges:

  • Black Hole Toss
  • Space Toilet
  • Vestibular Boards
  • Chabot_logo_black