Posts Tagged ‘Best of the East Bay’

International Dance Stage – James Moore Theatre

August 6, 2009

A very slight schedule change to announce, so here is the update:

6:00 – 6:10 Kyoungil Ong (Korean Court Dance)

6:10 – 6:40 Kala Art Institute Artists-in-School Program (Dance and Rhythms of India)

6:40 – 6:50 Frederique (Belly Dance)

6:50 – 7:00 Kyoungil Ong (Korean Drum Dance)

7:00 – 8:00 Nguyen Dance Company (Vietnamese Dance)

8:00 – 8:15 Frederique (Belly Dance)

8:15 – 9:15 NaachDuniya (Bollywood Dance)

9:15 – 9:45 Zambalita (Belly Dance)

9:45 – 10:45 Urban Prodigy Performance Co. (Urban Dance)

Sam's Mugshot

Sam's Mugshot

We should also mention our MC in the James Moore Theatre for the evening, the Express‘s very own Sam Levin.

Sam has some experience on the stage himself, but for this event, he’ll be introducing the performers and running the front of the house. Treat him nice; he’s a cutie!

Jessica Laventhal from the Express will be backstage this year, keeping the dance troupes on schedule… which will be especially fun with the 33 Bollywood dancers!

Band Spotlight #22: Goapele

August 5, 2009

Best of the East Bay Party main stage performer, Goapele, is featured on the cover of this week’s East Bay Express. We are thrilled to have her gracing our stage this year!

Cover

Kids, You’re Gonna Love This!

August 4, 2009

teachlogom3In addition to all the other fun activities planned in the Chabot Space & Science Center Kids’ Zone, we’ve added another extra cool hands-on activity. Exercise your imagination by adding to a giant collaborative Marble Maze! Tools and a wide range of supplies will be available for children of all ages to add paths for marbles to roll down this whimsical contraption. Presented by “Teach me to make“, whose hands-on, tinkering based workshops teach how to build things, light them up, and make them move.

DSC00832

Event Party Guide

August 4, 2009

Pick up a hard copy version in the middle of Wednesday’s East Bay Express, or flip through the Party Guide online now!


Watch the Party LIVE online

August 4, 2009

During the party, the Express will be webcasting the Best of the East Bay Party live, in all it’s glory, both our our website, EastBayExpress.com, and on LiveVenu.com.

gsrhoni sound live logo squareimage_gsl_051409The webcast is courtesy of Richmond-based Gershoni Sound and Live Venu. Gershoni Sound & Live Venu have partnered to enable viewers to experience entertainment, nightlife, special and corporate events, clubs, concerts and venues from all over the world… live online!

Live Venu is a virtual window to events worldwide. The best destination for high quality productions, Live Venu is radically different from other services because Live Venu searches out exceptional events, conferences, nightlife, festivals and DJs, and brings the video and audio to you.

livevenu_logo_073009Log onto Live Venu to experience the magic from the comfort of your own home, and join in the experience with other fans from around the globe. As a recent start-up, Live Venu is already being sought out as the #1 network for event streaming.

Gear up, party people!

August 4, 2009

The 2009 Party t-shirts on now on sale. Click here to shop.

Want to stay overnight near the party?

August 3, 2009

Our friends at the Washington Inn are offering Friday night discounts for Best of the East Bay party-goers. Conveniently located at 495 10th Street in historic Old Oakland which is only 9 blocks from the 10th Street (at Fallon Street) entrance of the party. From single rooms to luxury suites, the independent, locally-owned Washington Inn’s accommodations emphasize comfort and style.

Use discount code “EXPRES” (just one “s”) for Friday, August 7:

Single queen room: $89

Two double beds: $99

King Suite:  $119

Call for reservations: 510-452-1776.

Directions from the party

START: 10th St & Fallon St, Oakland

Turn RIGHT onto 8TH ST.  (go 0.6 miles)

Turn RIGHT onto BROADWAY.  (go 0.1 miles)

Turn LEFT onto 10TH ST.  (go 0.1 miles)

END: Washington Inn, 495 10th St, Oakland

Drive time: 3 minutes | Distance: 0.86 miles

Art at every turn

August 2, 2009

The Best of the East Bay Party is an unconventional festival in every way, and the signage is no exception. You’ll find handmade signs courtesy of the Express‘s ace design team, throughout the halls and courtyards of the museum, directing you to the various activities.

And for our East Bay Express and Amoeba Music sign hanging over the main stage, we’ve tapped El Cerrito-based Made for Glory Signs for the job of hand designing and painting our largest and most prominent sign. Sure, we could have dug out one of our company’s preprinted vinyl banners from storage, but where’s the fun in that? What we loved about the guys at Made For Glory Signs is their dedication to continuing the traditional craft of sign making. The two-man independent operation does “100% Hand Painted Custom Work”.

Take a closer look at some of their work at the party; they’ll be showing it off in the Gear Head Garage. And for all you business owners reading this post – why buy signs out of a catalog that are massed produced, probably not locally made, and unoriginal? These guys are on to something…

l_0983b25fa7844990916a9b3307a2b232

Directions, Maps, Bike Parking, Parking Info

July 31, 2009

The kind folks from the East Bay Bicycle Coalition are offering free bike valet parking at the Best of the East Bay Party.

We recommend that you bikeBART and/or take AC Transit to this event. The museum parking garage will be *closed* to the public on Friday, August 7.

The Best of the East Bay Party is conveniently located within 1 short block from the Lake Merritt BART station (next to Laney College).

You can find the bike valet parking on 10th Street near the intersection of Fallon Street, which is also where the main museum entrance is located for this event.

If you will be drinking at the event, please plan ahead for a safe trip home!

DAI Style Lounge and Fashion Show

July 31, 2009

Over 60 local designers, artists and innovators will be at the Best of the East Bay Party to knock your socks off (and then sell you new socks) in true Bay Area style. Don’t worry, we’ll make sure the museum ATM is fully loaded. In the meantime you savvy chic shoppers you, check out their websites to figure out which booths you want to visit.

Andrea Wysocki Jewelry – www.andreawysocki.com

Arts Anvil – www.judybrandonjewelry.com

Ashes and Empires – www.ashesandempires.com

Avery Jasper – www.averyjasper.com

Ayurvastram – http://store.ayurvastram.com

BlueLotusArts – bluelotusarts1@yahoo.com

Bridgland Studios – www.bridglandstudios.com

Candy Boutique – www.candyboutique.net

Chrystie Cappelli – missingpiece-sf.com

Class Attire – www.TheChalkboardTee.com

Cookie Lee Jewelry – RoxanneSeliger@gmail.com

Denise’s Pieces – www.nisespieces.com

Enzo Milano – www.enzomilano.com

Estilo Clothing Co – www.estiloclothing.com

Flea Market Girl – fleamarketgirl.com

Funky & Fabulous – www.funkyandfabulous.com

Gold Dust Studio – www.goldduststudio.com

Gravitea – www.drinkgravitea.com

Heart’s Desire Jewelry – www.heartsdesirejewelry.com

Helena de Natalio – www.helenadenatalio.com

Hipstirr – www.hipstirrbelts.com

Josie Adele – www.josieadele.com

Judy Aurora – www.judyaurora.com

K. Antoinette Collection – kantoinette.etsy.com

King Bag Company – www.kingbagcompany.com

K’ren’s Interior and Designs – www.quiltsforsalebyk-ren.com

Label King – www.unifiedpeople.com

Lapin Vilardi Travel Accessories – www.lapinvilardi.com

Mama’s Little Babies – http://mamaslittlebabies.com

Mangosteen Jewelry – www.mangosteenoakland.com

MayMe – www.maymeonline.com

Medium Reality –  http://mediumreality.com

Miss Bombshell Vintage Reproductions – laura_benitez@hotmail.com

Mobile Spinach – www.mobilespinach.com

Mod Clothing – www.Picasaweb/mod411.com

Nodeform – www.nodeform.com

NoFu – www.nofu.com

Nopal – www.nopalapparel.com

Oaklandish – http://www.oaklandish.com

O’Lover Hats – www.oloverhats.com

Om Records – www.om-records.com

Princess Punk – www.princess-punk.com

Raphaela Robinson – raphirobinson@yahoo.com

Rebecca Ciccio – http://rebeccaciccio.com/

Revelation by ME – www.revelationbyme.com

San Francisco Institute of Esthetics and Cosmetology – www.sfiec.edu

Sarah Swell Jewelry – http://sarahswell.com/

Sazzy Boutique – www.sazzyboutique.com

Sefirah Fierce Designs – www.sefirahfiercedesigns.com

Selma Karaca – www.selmakaraca.com

Sikara & Co. – www.sikarajewelry.com

Sita Rupe – sitarupe.com

Sourdough – http://www.sourdoughsf.com/

Stella and Dot – www.stelladot.com/sabina

Teruo Artistry – www.teruo.com

The Baddest Bag ™ – www.thebaddestbag.com

Versa Jewelry –  http://www.versajewelry.com

Victrend – www.victrend.com

VIVO – www.vivo-imports.com

W.Ho Made It – www.whomadeit.etsy.com

Wild Cow Designs – www.dyanegoldman.com

Yellowfield Hats – yellowfield7@yahoo.com

DAI Style Lounge is also hosting a Fashion Show in the 2nd floor museum Restaurant, right next to the vendor area. DJs and stylists will keep you feeling and looking great all night long.